Canadian Council on Podiatric Medical Education


Colleges of Podiatric Medicine

The accreditation authority of the Canadian Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CCPME) extends to first professional degree programs offered at academic health centers, colleges, and universities. The colleges of podiatric medicine accredited by the CCPME are classified as postsecondary non-profit institutions offering educational programs leading to the first professional degree. At present, the CCPME recognizes the American Council on Podiatric Medicine’s accredited nine colleges of podiatric medicine. Eight of the nine institutions are regionally accredited and the ninth (New York College of Podiatric Medicine) is recognized by the State Education Department of the University of the State of New York. The CCPME currently does not accredit any colleges of podiatric medicine in Canada.

Each of the accredited colleges offers the degree of Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (DPM). All accredited colleges of podiatric medicine are properly chartered and licensed to operate within the jurisdiction in which they are located, and all have appropriate authorization from state / provincial agencies to offer the degrees conferred. The degrees granted by accredited colleges of podiatric medicine, are accepted by state and provincial licensing authorities in all Canadian provinces or territories, 50 US states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.